Govt to issue rules on no-fly list by June 20

Written by June 7, 2017 09:23

New Delhi, June 7: Union minister Jayant Sinha on Tuesday said the Centre is likely to release its rules on a no-fly list for unruly passengers by June 20.

The ministry of civil aviation had last month issued its draft rules for a national no-fly list and invited stakeholders’ comments within the next 30 days. It had mooted a ban on flying from three months upto an indefinite period for unruly passengers.

The Minister of State for Civil Aviation said, the ministry has received many suggestions and target date for issuing the final Civil Aviation Requirement is set for June 20. He added that the ministry is currently evaluating the suggestions and taking the advice of the DGCA on the matter.

The government has recommended three levels of unruly behaviour, each with a corresponding duration of flying ban of 3 months, 6 months and two years or more without limit. The draft is an amendment to the existing Civil Aviation Requirement, a set of rules on unruly and disruptive