Elections 2019

Patnaik has continued his grip over Odisha with his party, BJD, winning 112 Assembly seats in the 147-member House.

"Rahul Gandhi offered his resignation, as the party president. The CWC unanimously rejected the same and requested Congress President for his leadership and guidance in challenging times," a resolution adopted in the meeting said.

The newly elected 151 MLAs of the YSR Congress met at the state party office in Amaravathi and have formally passed a resolution declaring Jagan Mohan Reddy as their leader.

BJD has once again established its political supremacy by winning 112 Assembly seats in 146-member House and paving the way for Naveen Patnaik to be chief minister for 5th consecutive term.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who chaired the meeting, will meet President Ram Nath Kovind to handover the resolution that will pave the way for constituting the 17th Lok Sabha.

The Cabinet and Union Council of Ministers are scheduled to meet on Friday evening to pass a resolution, recommending the dissolution of the 16th Lok Sabha.

BJP has made huge strides in West Bengal by garnering 18 seats, 16 more than it had won in the 2014 polls, thereby breaching the once Left-ruled bastion and now the TMC citadel.

The biggest setback for Congress was party president Rahul Gandhi's defeat from Amethi, a traditional family bastion. BJP's Smriti Irani won the seat with a margin of 55,120 votes. Irani polled a total of 4,67,598 votes.

The RJD, led by Lalu Prasad Yadav's son Tejashwi Yadav, fought the election in alliance with the Congress and others. The party, which contested on 20 seats, didn't manage to win even a single seat this election