Elections 2019

"This is the triumph of the national forces. Many compliments to each and everyone who have contributed to this victory of democracy," RSS general secretary Bhaiyyaji Joshi said.

The BJP on Thursday got an overwhelming majority in the Lok Sabha, crossing on its own the 300 mark while storming back to power for the second consecutive term.

As the Lok Sabha elections results show a BJP sweep across the country, as many as nine former chief ministers belonging to Congress, face imminent electoral defeat in the elections.

Naveen Patnaik has continued his vice-like grip over Odisha with his party, BJD, leading in 110 seats in the 147-member House and himself set to become the chief minister for the fifth consecutive term.

Trends show a positive signal for the BJP in Uttar Pradesh with the party leading on 54 seats. The BSP and SP, which are in alliance, are ahead on 13 and eight seats, respectively, as per official Election Commission of India trends.

"People are tired of Mamata Banerjee in West Bengal. Had the elections been held in a fair manner BJP would have won more than 30 seats here that is what Banerjee was afraid of, hence the violence in all seven phases," Roopa Ganguly said.

While YSRCP is leading on 134 Assembly seats in the 175-member House, the ruling Telugu Desam Party of Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu is ahead on 26 seats

Debutant Gautam Gambhir, Union minister Harsh Vardhan and sitting lawmaker Manoj Tiwari of the Bharatiya Janata Party were among early gainers.

The BJP+ was leading in 320 seats while the Indian National Congress+ was placed second in the list with 112 seats according to officials trends of 371 constituencies.