Rajasthan Election Updates: Voter turnout recorded 72.7%

Written by December 7, 2018 18:22

New Delhi: Voting for 199 seats in the Rajasthan assembly election took place today with 72.7 percent polling. In Rajasthan, around 52,000 polling booths, including at least one all-women booth in each constituency, have been set up. More than 2 lakh EVMs and VVPAT machines were used for the polling.

As many as 2,274 candidates including 189 women are in the fray for 199 out of a total 200 constituencies in the state.

Assembly elections 2018

Nearly 4 crore 76 lakh voters will decide the political fate of around 2,200 candidates in these polls. For the differently-abled voters, ramps have been prepared at polling booths, with pick and drop facility. State Director General of Police OP Galhotra said, three-tier arrangements have been made to deal with any situation.

As it happened:

#05.00 pm Voter turnout recorded till 5 PM in #RajasthanElections2018 is 72.7%

# 03:52 pm: Voter turnout recorded till 3 PM in Rajasthan Elections 2018 is 59.43%

# 03:02 pm: Vehicles were set ablaze & vandalised in a clash which broke out b/w 2 groups at polling booth at Subhash school in Sikar’s Fatehpur today. Voting remained affected for 30 minutes. Miscreants were later removed from spot by police&voting resumed.

# 02:00 pm: Records of Voter turnout

# 01:56 pm: Rajasthan BJP chief Madan Saini casts vote

# 01:19 pm: Voter turnout recorded till 1 PM is 41.53%

# 12:10 pm: Erstwhile royals of Jodhpur, Gaj Singh and his wife cast their votes at polling booth no. 194 in Sardarpura constituency

# 11:55 am: Union Minister of State for Water Resources Arjun Ram Meghwal outside a polling booth in Kismi Desar

# 11:40 am: Congress leader Bhanwar Jitendra Singh casts his vote in Alwar

# 11:30 am: Shajha, a 105-year-old woman casts her vote at a polling booth in Kishanpura, Jaipur.

# 11:22 am: 22% polling recorded till 11 am across state, says ECI

# 11:22 am: Union minister Arjun Ram Meghwal stands in a queue to cast his vote at polling booth no. 172 in Bikaner

# 11:16 am: Voter turnout recorded till 11.00 am in Rajasthan Elections 2018 is 21.89%

# 10:08 am: Congress leader Ashok Gehlot cast his vote at polling booth no. 106 in Jodhpur.

# 9:48 am: Voting turnout in Rajasthan Assembly election 2018 is 6.11% till 9 AM.

# 9:38 am; Union Minister of State for Agriculture Gajendra Singh Shekhawat cast his vote at polling booth 128 in Jodhpur.

# 9:35 am: A 90-year-old man arrives at polling booth no. 104 in Sardarpura constituency of Jodhpur district to caste his vote.

# 9:17 am: State Home Minister Gulab Chand Kataria cast his vote at a polling station in Udaipur

# 9:11 am: CM Vasundhara Raje on Sharad Yadav’s remark ‘Vasundhara (Raje) ko aaram do, thak gayi hain, bahut moti ho gayi hain’: To set an example for future it’s important that EC takes cognisance of this kind of language. I actually feel insulted&I think even women are insulted

# 9:11 am: Union Minister Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore in Vaishali Nagar, Jaipur: Every single vote counts. We have to cast our vote today by thinking who is actually taking the nation forward.

# 9:02 am: Sachin Pilot, Congress on CM face from Congress: We will sit and discuss this after our party gets a majority in the election.

# 8:56 am: Union Minister Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore casts his votes at polling booth 252 in Vaishali Nagar, Jaipur.

# 8:49 am: An 80-year-old woman cast her vote at booth no. 103 in Sardarpura constituency of Jodhpur district.

# 8:41 am: Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje casts her vote at polling booth no. 31A in Jhalrapatan constituency of Jhalawar.

# 7:55 am: Rajasthan Home Minister Gulab Chand Kataria offers prayers at Shiv temple in Udaipur before casting his vote.

# 7:31 am: Mock polling being conducted at booth no. 106 in Jodhpur’s Sardarpura constituency. Voting will begin at 8 am in the state.

# 6:45 am: Polling station in Jodhpur; voting for the state assembly elections will start at 8 am

# 06:26 am: Pink polling booth in Jhalawar; voting for the state assembly elections will start at 8 am.