BJP, JD(U) to contest 17 seats each, LJP gets 6 in 2019 Lok Sabha elections

Written by Newsroom Staff December 23, 2018 12:59

New Delhi: BJP president Amit Shah announced that his party would contest on 17 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar, while an equal number of seats will go to the Janata Dal-United. Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan led LJP will contest on six seats.

Apart from the six Lok Sabha seats in Bihar, the LJP is also likely to get one seat in either Uttar Pradesh or Jharkhand and a Rajya Sabha berth, which is likely to be taken by Paswan, who is currently a minister in the Narendra Modi cabinet.

Making the announcement, Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar also said that Ram Vilas Paswan will also contest for a Rajya Sabha seat from the NDA in the next Rajya Sabha elections.

“The seat sharing deal has been reached after keeping in mind the ground realities, the political situation of each seat in the state and the NDA’s strength,” BJP chief Amit Shah said.

“We will win more seats in Bihar in the 2019 elections than we had won in 2014,” Amit Shah said.

“We will sit together with the BJP leadership and discuss the issues. We will work towards ensuring NDA’s win in 2019 elections,” said Mr Kumar, who had been demanding an equal share of seats with the BJP.


While announcing the seat share, the BJP chief also said that the alliance would sit and decide which seats would be contested by which party and the announcement will also be made soon.

The seat sharing announcement comes two days after Amit Shah met both Ram Vilas Paswan as well as Chirag Paswan of the LJP. Coming out of the meeting, Chirag Paswan had said that an announcement would be made at an appropriate time. “We have put our points before the BJP leadership and the important thing is that we are being heard. Hope everything will be fine,” Chirag told reporters.

No vacancy for PM in 2019

Chirag had recently given an ultimatum to NDA to sort out seat-sharing issues in Bihar by December 31 or else it would also decide its future course of action.