IPL 2019: List of players retained and released, Full details here!

Written by November 15, 2018 20:30

New Delhi: Ahead of the auctions for the upcoming season of Indian Premier League (IPL), the franchisees have begun releasing the list of players retained and released or transferred.

Some teams have opted to let off big names while others have chosen to release some big names.

Today being the last day for releasing the list, the IPL franchisees are taking last-minute calls. The auction for the upcoming season will take place in Jaipur on December 17-18.

Every year, franchises are required to inform the IPL Governing Council about their retentions and release of players for the upcoming season.

IPL 2019: List of players retained and released, Full details here!

Mumbai Indians release 10 players, retain 18

Mumbai Indians, the three-time champions of Indian Premier League, have released 10 players ahead of IPL 2019.

On Thursday, the Mumbai Indians took to Twitter to make the list official.

Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super KingsThe three-time champions released Akila Dananjaya, Mustafizur Rahman, Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Sharad Lumba, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, JP Duminy, Pat Cummins.

Rohit Sharma will continue to lead the Mumbai Indians.

The team however retained 18 players, including the Pandya brothers (Hardik and Krunal), Jasprit Bumrah, Mayank Markande, Aditya Tare, Ishan Kisan, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy and Suryakumar Yadav.

Players retained by Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Quinton de Kock, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jason Behrendorff.

Mumbai Indians defeat Chennai Super KingsPlayers released by Mumbai Indians: Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Sharad Lumba, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, JP Duminy, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman, Akila Dananjaya.

Chennai SuperKings releases 3 players

Reigning IPL champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) has decided to retain 22 players for the 2019 season while releasing 3 members from the title-winning squad.

IPL first qualifierEngland fast bowler Mark Wood and uncapped Indian players Kanishk Seth and Kshitiz Sharma have been released.

CSK, which returned to the IPL fold after serving a two-year suspension, won the 2018 tournament, beating Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final.

England all-rounder David Willey has been retained. Kedar Jadhav, who sustained an injury in the opening match and missed the rest of the tournament, also remains in the squad.

The team didn’t seek a replacement for New Zealand all-rounder Mitchell Santner, who was injured and he would come back into the squad, according to CSK sources.

CSK has a purse of Rs 8.5 crore (Rs 6.5 crore left from the last season and an additional Rs two crore made available to the players this season) heading into the auction.

Kings XI Punjab release Yuvraj, Finch; only 9 players retained

Kings XI Punjab on Thursday revealed that they have decided to let go of their three big players.

Mumbai Indians beat Kings XI PunjabThe team announced the list of players they have retained and released ahead of the IPL 2019 auction slated to be held in December.

The three players who have been released from among the 11 in all are all-rounder Yuvraj Singh, Axar Patel and Australian skipper Aaron Finch.

Yuvraj managed to find just 65 runs at a poor average of 10.38 in the eight games he played for Kings last season, while ever-aggressive Finch scored 134 in 10 games at an average of 16.75. Axar Patel is another name on the released list of the players.

Players retained by Kings XI: Lokesh Rahul, Chris Gayle, Andrew Tye, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karun Nair, David Miller And Ravichandran Ashwin

Players released by Kings XI: Aaron Finch, Axar Patel, Mohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Barinder Sran, Ben Dwarshuis, Manoj Tiwary, Akshdeep Nath, Pardeep Sahu, Mayank Dagar And Manzoor Dar, Marcus Stoinis

KKR releases Mitchell Starc via text message

Kolkata Knight Riders have released the Australian seamer Mitchell Starc ahead of the Indian Premier League Season 12 by a text message.

IPL 2018“I got a text message two days ago from the owners of Kolkata (Knight Riders) saying I’ve been released from my contract,” Starc has confirmed to reporters in Sydney today (Wednesday),” Starc said.

Starc was brought by KKR in the 2018 auction for a whopping INR 9.4 crore but did not feature in the tournament due to a leg injury. He has been grappling with a spate of injuries since then but recently made a comeback to the national side.

The 2019 IPL auction is due to take place next month and Starc will miss out on a lucrative pay cheque unless he nominates himself for the upcoming season.

Sunrisers Hyderabad release 9 players

Sunrisers Hyderabad have released their list of retained and released players. They have released as many as 9 players from their squad including the likes of Wriddhiman Saha, Alex Hales and Chris Jordan.

Indian Premiere League 2018SRH already announced the trade with Delhi Daredevils for Shikhar Dhawan last week with Abhiskek Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem and Vijay Shankar moving the other way. They had used their RTM card to get Dhawan back in the 2018 auction for a whopping Rs. 5.2 crores.