Karnataka polls: Cong releases 1st list, those denied tickets resort to violence (VIDEO)

Written by April 16, 2018 15:10

Bengaluru: The Congress released its first list for the 224-member Karnataka assembly elections late on Sunday night.

The list of 218 candidates contains the names of 112 sitting MLAs. Only 10 sitting MLAs have not been given tickets this time.

The list includes the names of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and state Congress chief G Parameshwara.

However, the announcement of Congress candidates resulted in huge uproar and backlash as the disgruntled party workers held violent protests and indulged in arson in many cities.

The ruling party in the state has fielded 15 women, 14 Muslims, 3 Christians and 2 Jains for the polls.

Siddaramaiah will contest from the Chamundeshwari Assembly seat and Parameshwara will be in the fray from the Korategere Assembly constituency. Contrary to expectations, Siddaramaiah has only kept one seat for himself.

minority status for LingayatsSiddaramaiah’s son Yatheendra, a political novice has been given the ticket from Varuna, which his father represented in 2008 and 2013.

Six seats where the Congress has not announced candidates are Sindgi, Nagthan, Melukote, Kittur, Raichur and Shantinagar.

The Congress has given tickets to 102 sitting MLAs and 11 party hoppers.

The party changed its sitting MLAs in ten seats, three of them — Badami, Hangal and Gulbarga rural — due to ill-health. All the MLAs who moved from the Janata Dal (S) to the Congress have been given the party ticket despite stiff opposition from some quarters.