Karnataka cabinet expansion: 8 Cong ministers join Kumaraswamy team

Written by Newsroom Staff December 22, 2018 17:20

New Delhi: Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy Saturday expanded his six-month old cabinet, inducting eight members from its coalition partner Congress.

The new ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy at the Glass House at Raj Bhavan by Governor Vajubhai Vala amid tight security. The new inductees are Satish Jarkiholi, MB Patil, CS Shivalli, MTB Nagaraj, E Tukaram, PT Parameshwar Naik, Rahim Khan and RB Thimmapur, with seven of them hailing from north Karnataka.

Kumaraswamy govt on verge of collapse? Rebel MLAs begin moving out of state, say reportsTwo ministers — Ramesh Jarkiholi (Municipal Administration) and R Shankar (Forest and Environment) — were dropped.

Congress’ coalition partner Janata Dal-Secular were not be part of this round of cabinet expansion, and is likely to induct new ministers from its side, post-Sankranthi.

Kumaraswamy to expand his CabinetThis is the second expansion in the ministry.

With the cabinet expansion exercise being deferred repeatedly, several aspirants, especially those from the Congress, had openly expressed their displeasure.