4th Test: India thrash Australia to reclaim Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Written by March 28, 2017 12:38

Dharamsala, Mar 28: India defeated Australia by eight wickets to win the fourth and final cricket Test in Dharamsala today to reclaim the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

Chasing 106 runs to win, India achieved the target in the 24th over of their innings losing just two wickets.

For the hosts, Lokesh Rahul was the highest scorer with 51 not out while Ajinkya Rahane remained unbeaten at 38. Earlier, India resumed their second innings’ play at the overnight score of 19 for no loss.

Earlier, after securing a vital first innings lead of 32, the hosts took a firm grip on the match by skittling out the visitors for a paltry 137 in 53.5 overs in their second innings. For India, paceman Umesh Yadav, spinners R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja took three wickets apiece, while Bhuvneswar kumar claimed one wicket.