Assembly elections in 5 states: High-stakes battle before 2019 LS polls; here are most popular CM candidates

Written by November 19, 2018 13:20

New Delhi: Before 2019 Lok Sabha elections, five states of Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, and Telangana will go to polls between November-December and results will be declared on December 11.

Chhatisgarh Elections

Chhattisgarh’s first voting took place on November 12, while the state will go on polls for the second phase on November 20. The term of the Chhatisgarh assembly is ending on January 5.

Raman Singh- Ajit Jogi

Chhattisgarh’s most popular CM candidate

# Raman Singh

With 36.2 % votes (C Voter Survey)

# Ajit Jogi

With 20.1 % votes (C Voter Survey)

Madhya Pradesh Elections

Elections in Madhya Pradesh will be held on November 28. The term of the Madhya Pradesh assembly is ending on January 7.

MP’s most popular CM candidate

# Jyotiraditya Scindia   
With 41.6 % votes (C Voter Survey)
# Shivraj Singh Chouhan   
With 37.4 % votes (C Voter Survey)


Mizoram Elections

The hill state, Mizoram will go on polls November 28. The term of the Mizoram assembly is ending on December 15. The Congress has been in power since 2008.

The ruling party Congress in Mizoram is trying to wrest power from the BJP in Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan.

Mizoram’s most popular CM candidate

Lal Thanhawla-Zoramthanga

# Lal Thanhawla (INC)

With 27.3 % votes (C Voter Survey)

# Zoramthanga (MNF)

With 25.4 % votes (C Voter Survey)

Rajasthan Elections

Rajasthan will be voting on December 7. The term of the state assembly is ending on January 20.

Rajasthan’s most popular CM candidate 

Sachin Pilot-Vasundhara Raje

# Sachin Pilot

With 38.7 % votes (C Voter Survey)

# Vasundhara Raje

With 22.7 % votes (C Voter Survey)

Telangana Elections

People of Telangana will vote for assembly elections on December 7.

Telangana is ruled by ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) had dissolved the assembly on September 6, paving way for early elections.

Telangana’s most popular CM candidate

K Chandrashekhar Rao-K.Jana Reddy

# K Chandrashekhar Rao (TRS)

With 42.9 % votes (C Voter Survey)

# K.Jana Reddy (INC)

With 22.6 % votes (C Voter Survey)

In 2013

The Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) had won 165, 163 and 49 seats Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh assemblies respectively, with the Congress securing 58, 21 and 39 seats. The strength of these assemblies are 230, 200 and 90.

In 2014

In Telangana, the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi will face the contest from the Congress and the BJP. After winning 63 seats in the 2014 assembly polls. The state assembly has 119 seats.