Karnataka Election: BJP announces second list of 82 candidates

The opposition Bharatiya Janata Party in Karnataka has published the second list of names for the upcoming election. So far, according to reports, the party hasn’t given ticket to a single Christian or Muslim, in a ploy similar to that used in Uttar Pradesh.

The names were finalised on Sunday in a meeting attended by PM Narendra Modi, Amit Shah and other top BJP leaders. Karnataka elections are slated to be held on May 12 and counting of votes will held on 15th. BJP had announced its first list of 72 candidates on April 9.

Many loyalists of former CM Yeddyurappa have been included in the list. Elder of the tainted Reddy brothers, G Somasekhar Reddy has been given ticket. Another controversial member Krishnaiah Shetty has been given ticket.

BJP so far has declared candidates for 154 seats. So it is yet to announce names for 70 seats. Karnataka assembly has 224 seats.

The last date for filing nominations is on April 24. The Congress too announced its list on the weekend for all but 6 seats.

It has lead to much heartburn among party leaders who have missed out on getting nominations.

Karnataka is a high-profile state election ahead of next year’s Lok Sabha election. It is one of the few major states where Congress is in power.

Facebook Comments