Karnataka set for assembly polls on Saturday; BJP, Cong in direct contest

Avatar Written by May 11, 2018 19:38

Bengaluru: After a rancorous campaign over three months, Karnataka is all set for assembly polls tomorrow. The state will go to polls for electing a new Assembly in a three-cornered contest tomorrow.

However, most surveys and opinion polls have suggested that the ruling Congress and BJP are the main contenders in the state while HD Deve Gowda’s JD(S) is likely to be the kingmaker in the state.

Karnataka set for assembly pollsElaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure free and fair Assembly elections tomorrow.

Karnataka set for assembly pollsThe Election Commission has issued guidelines to political parties and media for strict compliance with the Model code of conduct till the election is over. The EC has also imposed the ban on public opinion programmes in the media till the voting is over.

Security beefed up, 40,000 jawans deployed

Over one lakh 40 thousand security personnel are deployed to ensure peaceful polling. The DG- IGP of police Neelamani Raju informed media persons in Bengaluru today, that 585 companies of paramilitary forces are deployed in 20,826 polling stations, which includes 12001 critical booths. She said that the deployed forces include Karnataka civil and armed police forces, Home Guards and Karnataka Industrial Security force.

Karnataka set for assembly pollsBesides civil and armed police forces from other states and central forces including BSF, ITBP, CISF, Rapid Action Force are also being deployed and for the first time personnel are drawn from Forest department. The DG informed that no Naxal movements are detected and no call for poll ban is given by them.

Gen Next a big factor in 2018 polls

A total of 2636 candidates are in the fray for election to 223 of 224 assembly seats, out of which 617 are women. BJP has fielded 223 candidates while Congress has fielded 222 candidates. JD (S) is contesting in 201 constituencies.

Karnataka set for assembly pollsThe young voters’ size has also doubled compared to the last assembly elections in the state. The election in Jayanagar Assembly constituency has been postponed following the death of BJP candidate B N Vijay Kumar. The counting of votes will take place on 15th May.

support newsroompost
support newsroompost