Uttar Pradesh’s Shamli included in NCR

Written by December 5, 2017 10:38

New Delhi: Shamli district of Uttar Pradesh has been included in the National Capital Region, taking the total number of districts in the NCR to 23.

The decision to include Shamli in the NCR was taken at the 37th meeting of the National Capital Region Planning Board held in New Delhi yesterday.

Besides Delhi, there are at present 22 districts- 13 of Haryana, seven of Uttar Pradesh and two of Rajasthan in the NCR. Cities in the NCR get funds at attractive interest rates from NCRPB for infrastructure development.

The meeting, chaired by Housing and Urban Affairs Minister Hardeep Singh Puri, was attended by Haryana Chief Minister Manoharlal Khattar, Uttar Pradesh Urban Development Minister Suresh Kumar Khanna and Delhi Public Works Department Minister Satyendra Jain, among others.

The meeting decided that the forests should be identified as per the order of the Supreme Court and the ‘Aravallis’ are to be delineated in the entire NCR, as per the earlier decisions of the Board. The Bo