2017 saw how Modi magic won the day for BJP in electoral battles

Avatar Written by December 30, 2017 18:52

Even as the year 2017 comes to an end at midnight tomorrow, there is a need to have a look at how the year was for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) under the joint leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party’s national president Amit Shah. The year 2017 is marked by one success after another by the BJP in the elections that were held in this year.

The entire country witnessed how the BJP registered thumping victory in all Assembly elections including Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Manipur and Goa. And this could be possible because of PM Modi’s magic which continues to be intact with every passing day. Apart from assembly elections, the saffron surge was seen in civic elections in various states. Punjab could be an exception.

As far as Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2017 are concerned, the BJP returned to this crucial state after a gap of 15 years. The BJP falsified all the poll pundits and bagged a  whopping 312 seats with a nearly 40 per cent vote share.  However, the BJP’s tally along with its allies Apna Dal (Soneylal Patel) and Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party (SBSP) went  up to 324 in a House of 403. Yogi Adityanath became the chief minister of UP, whose administration has hit the headlines. Everybody is aware about how Yogi is fulfilling the dreams of Narendra Modi in the state ever since he came to power. PM Modi’s massive campaign coupled with his charisma made it possible for the BJP to be successful in such a big way in what is very crucial state vis-a-vis next Lok Sabha polls of 2019.

Similarly, Uttarakhand Assembly Elections of 2017 were swept by the BJP under the leadership of Narendra Modi and Amit Shah. The BJP registered a massive victory bagging 56 out of 70 seat. What was significant in the elections in this state was that the Congress was reduced to just 11 seats. It was for the first time in the 16-year history of Uttarakhand that a party emerged with an impressive tally which was recorded by the BJP. The party elected Trivendra Singh Rawat as the chief minister of the state.

Them came Manipur Assembly Elections of 2017 in which the BJP formed the  government. Though the saffron party stopped just short of magic number, it got the majority in the 60 members Assembly with the support of three regional parties, Naga People’s Front (NPF) National Peoples Party (NPP) and the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) — and the support of another MLA. Similarly, Goa also witnessed the BJP government after Congress failed to form the government. Manohar Parrirkar who was then the Defence Minister of the country resigned from his post to serve the state as chief minister.

In what turned out to be politically very significant victory, BJP retained power in Gujarat which also went to polls in the year 2017. The Bharatiya Janata Party on December 18 retained power in Gujarat. Of he total 182 seats, the Bharatiya Janata Party bagged 99 seats while the Congress, led by Rahul Gandhi, came second with 77 seats. Congress’ ally Bhartiya Tribal Party won two seats and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) one. Three seats went to independent candidates. Everybody witnessed how PM Modi visited length and breadth of the state, taking charge of the campaigning in a stormy way. That the BJP negated the impact of 22 years of anti-incumbency could be possible due to PM Modi’s charismatic personality.

The saffron surge was seen in Himachal Pradesh which also went to polls in 2017. The BJP wrested power from the Congress in this hill state winning close to two-thirds majority with 44 seats in its kitty in the 68-member assembly.

BJP’s performance in Uttar Pradesh Civic Polls 2017 was also superb and quite significant. The voters gave their seal of approval to the working of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. The Bharatiya Janata Party swept urban local body elections winning 14 of 16 mayoral posts in municipal corporations (Nagar Nigam) with Congress failing to open its account.

Similarly, Delhi MCD polls in 2017 saw BJP retaining power in the corporations. Saffron party registered landslide victory in the Delhi MCD Polls 2017 winning 103 wards while the Aam Aadmi Party and the Congress bagged only 26 and 8 seats respectively.