State Election 2019

AIMIM had released two lists of candidates for Maharashtra polls, while BJP, CPI (M) and Shiv Sena have released one list each, so far.

In this year's Lok Sabha elections, the BJP made deep inroads in West Bengal, winning 18 out of 42 parliamentary constituencies while the TMC managed just 22, 12 less than it had won in the 2014 polls.

Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil who quit Congress and joined BJP recently will be contesting from Shirdi whereas State Minister Girish Mahajan has been given ticket from Jamner.

Shiv Sena has been demanding 144 out of 288 seats in the state assembly. Maharashtra will go to polls on October 21 and counting of votes takes place on October 24.

The BJP has denied party ticket to two ministers -- Vipul Goel (Faridabad) and Rao Narbir Singh (Badshahpur) and five other MLAs. Thirty-eight sitting MLAs have been given the ticket once again.

This comes as Shiv Sena Chief on Sunday distributed Form AB (that authorises a candidate as official party candidate) to its incumbent MLAs, even as the seat-sharing agreement with BJP for the Maharashtra Assembly polls are at the final stage and are yet to be finalised.

Yesterday, the BJP released a list of 32 candidates for by-elections across 13 states scheduled for October 21. The results for which will be announced on October 24.

The JJP had contested the Lok Sabha polls in alliance with the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) where it had to suffer a humiliating defeat being unable to secure even a single seat. JJP will contest on 50 seats and BSP will contest on 40 seats.

Manohar Lal Khattar-led BJP government is in power in Haryana after the party won 47 out of a total of 90 seats in the 2014 Assembly elections, while the Congress was restricted to just 15 seats.