Uddhav Thackeray becomes 18th Chief Minister of Maharashtra, to lead Sena-NCP-Cong alliance

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, his predecessor Manmohan Singh, Congress president Sonia Gandhi and about 400 farmers from various districts are among the people who have been invited for the oath-taking ceremony scheduled to be held at 6:40 pm.

Written by November 28, 2019 15:27

New Delhi: Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray was today sworn-in as the 18th chief minister of Maharashtra at a grand ceremony at Shivaji Park.

Uddhav is the first member from Thackeray family to become the Chief Minister and the third Shiv Sena leader to hold the top post after Manohar Joshi and Narayan Rane.

Uddhav is leading a government of the Maha Vikas Aghadi, an alliance of Shiv Sena, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and Congress.

Six leaders — two each from Congress, Shiv Sena, and NCP — took oath as ministers in Maharashtra’s alliance government on Thursday led by Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray. They were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari at Shivaji Park here.

Congress’ Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut, NCP’s Jayant Rajaram Patil, and Chhagan Chandrakant Bhujbal took oath as ministers. From Shiv Sena, Eknath Shinde and Subhash Desai were sworn in as ministers.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath, Kapil Sibbal, KTS Tulsi, MK Stalin, SK Shinde, Sanjay Raut, and Prithviraj Chavan, MNS leader and Uddhav’s cousin Raj Thackeray were among several leaders who attended the oath-taking ceremony.


# Rahul Gandhi also expressed his unwillingness to attend Uddhav Thackeray swearing-in.

Rahul Gandhi letter

# Congress President Sonia Gandhi will not attend the oath taking ceremony of Uddhav Thackeray-led government. Yesterday, Aaditya Thackeray visited Sonia’s resident to invite her for the historic event at Shivaji Park.

Sonia Gandhi letter


# DMK president MK Stalin arrives in Mumbai. He will attend the swearing-in ceremony of the new government of the state, led by Shiv Sena chief and ‘Maha Vikas Aghadi’ Uddhav Thackeray as the Chief Minister, today.

# Sources: Nationalist Congress Party’s (NCP) Jayant Patil and Chhagan Bhujbal to take oath today.

# Commissioner of Police Sanjay Barve reviewing security arrangements at Shivaji Park, ahead of Shiv Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray’s swearing-in as Maharashtra Chief Minister.

# Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) Sources: Ajit Pawar to be the Deputy Chief Minister in Maharashtra government but he is not likely to take oath today.

# Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel to attend Uddhav Thackeray’s swearing-in ceremony as Maharashtra Chief Minister in Mumbai.

# Uddhav Thackeray has talked to PM Narendra Modi over phone and invited him to the oath-taking ceremony. This was in addition to an invitation letter which was sent to PM Modi, earlier.