Elections 2019

In more trouble for Congress in Telangana, 12 of its MLAs on Thursday met Assembly Speaker Pocharam Srinivas Reddy asought merger of the group with the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS).

RJD faced a crushing defeat in the recently held Lok Sabha elections with the party failing to win even one seat in the polls. Its ally Congress also managed to win just one seat in the state.

Many other BJD leaders who have been allotted portfolios in the ministry also took oath along with Patnaik at the swearing-in ceremony held in Raj Bhavan here.

The United States on Tuesday expressed pleasure with Prime Minister Narendra Modi's return to power, highlighting the strong relationship shared by the two countries.

“My only request to you is that I am your elder brother. I demanded candidates for only 2 seats as they had popular local support but that was not given heed. I always told you to beware of sycophants around you,” Tej Pratap wrote in letter.

"I have spoken to other Chief Ministers also. Since it is a ceremonial program, we thought of attending it. Yes, I will go," Mamata Banerjee told media here on Tuesday.

According to data from PRS legislative research, 397 MPs have been elected from national parties. Congress got its 52 MPs elected while TMC emerged victorious on 22 LS seats.

Like SAARC leaders last time, heads of government from neighbouring BIMSTEC countries are likely to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi for his second term on May 30.

Delhi Congress chief Sheila Dikshit constituted a five-member committee to probe in depth the reasons behind the party's rout in the city-state in the recently-concluded Lok Sabha elections.

The Congress won eight of Punjab's 13 Lok Sabha seats in recently-concluded Lok Sabha elections. Jakhar, however, lost to newly-minted BJP leader Sunny Deol by a considerable margin of 82,459 votes.