Jharkhand Assembly polls

A galaxy of top opposition leaders will grace the swearing-in ceremony of JMM chief Hemant Soren as Jharkhand Chief Minister here on Sunday. Chief Ministers of as many as six states have also confirmed their presence.

Raghubar Das also congratulated JMM working president Hemant Soren for the victory of the alliance led by his party in the elections.

The voting for 12 of 17 Assembly seats concluded at 3 pm while polling for the remaining constituencies, including Ranchi, Kanke, and Hatia, continued till 5 pm.

PM Modi said: " Congress had no intention to develop Jharkhand. Even the money which used to come from Centre was misused. A state, which is rich in natural resources, has never been allowed to develop by these parties."

The constituencies where polling is taking place are -- Chatra, Gumla, Bishunpur, Lohardaga, Manika, Latehar, Panki, Daltonganj, Bishrampur, Chhatarpur, Hussainabad, Garhwa and Bhawanathpur.

Over 37 lakh electorate, who are eligible to exercise their franchise, will decide the electoral fortune of 189 candidates, including 15 women candidates in the first phase of Assembly elections, said Jharkhand Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Vinay Kumar Choubey on Friday.

Five-judge Supreme Court bench led by then CJI Ranjan Gogoi unanimously ruled in favour of Ram Lalla and said the entire disputed land spread over 2.7 acres will be handed over to a trust formed by the government, which will monitor the construction of a Ram temple at the site.

Jharkhand will go to polls in five phases from November 30. The first phase of polling will be held on November 30, the second phase on December 6, the third phase on December 12, the fourth phase on December 16 and the last phase on December 20.

Amit Shah would kick-start the campaign by the national leadership on November 21 and would also hold rallies on December 2, 5, 9, 14, and 17.

New Delhi: Sixty two per cent of sitting MLAs in the outgoing Jharkhand assembly have declared criminal cases against themselves,...