Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa visited flood-affected regions of the state and assured people that govt will make all efforts to rescue and rehabilitate them.

Yediyurappa has already started using this spelling on his official letterheads and the letter staking a claim for the formation of the new government also had this new spelling.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) state President BS Yeddyurappa will take oath as Chief Minister between 6.00 to 6.15 PM today.

During his second term, he held the post from May 2008 to July 2011. He had to resign following the accusations of corruption charges in illegal land deregulation notification scam.

The 14-month-old Congress JD(S) coalition government in Karnataka fell on Tuesday after it was defeated on the floor of the Karnataka Assembly with about 20 MLAs of the ruling coalition defying their party whips and absenting from voting on the confidence motion moved by Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy.

In the 224-member House, only 204 were present and voted. BJP got 105 votes while INC-JD(S) could manage only 99 votes.

The trust vote is scheduled for Monday after the House was adjourned in the wake of the Assembly failing to meet the two deadlines set by Governor Vajubhai Vala to complete the trust vote on July 19, amid heated arguments between the MLAs during the debate.

Kumaraswamy said he has already written to the Governor in this regard on Friday informing him that the house was already considering the confidence motion and the debates are currently ongoing.

The Supreme Court had earlier taken up the petitions of 10 dissident MLAs and directed the Speaker to maintain the status quo on their resignation and disqualification till July 16.

The political crisis began the day after the assembly elections, apparently because of the one-upmanship between the three parties.