Connect with us


General Elections 2023: EC announces election schedule for Nagaland, Tripura and Meghalaya

Election schedule for Nagaland, Tripura and Meghalaya announced-Check full schedule here

Neha Singh




New Delhi: The Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the election schedule for Nagaland, Tripura, and Meghalaya today (Wednesday, January 18).

The five-year term of three assemblies in these states is ending on different dates on March 12, 15 and on 22nd.

Tripura will vote on February 16, Meghalaya, and Nagaland on the 27th and the results will be announced on March 2.


This was the first press conference of the year by the Election Commission of India.

Women’s participation in all these states is higher than male.

Their electoral role is also higher in these states.

The CEC said the Election Commission had visited Nagaland, Meghalaya, and Nagaland from January 11-15, 2023 and they held detailed review meetings.

The CEC also said that they met Political Parties and responded to state-specific issues raised by them.

2018 Meghalaya Elections

Conrad Sangma’s National People’s Party (NPP) has 20 seats, the United Democratic Party (UDP) 8, the People’s Democratic Front (PDF) 2, BJP 2 and 2 are with Independents. The Opposition TMC has 9 seats, as Mukul Sangma came with them. Fourteen seats are vacant.

2018 Tripura Elections

In 2018, the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) won 33 seats,  the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) won 4, the Communist Party of India (M)  won 15, and Congress won one seat. While six seats were vacant.

2018 Nagaland Elections 

The tenure of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly is scheduled to end on March 12. In 2018, the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party and had formed the government after NDPP won 18 seats in the 60-member Assembly, and the saffron party got 12.

This is a developing story.