• youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

Asian Games 2023: When and where to watch the opening ceremony; check all the details below

Indian hockey team’s captain Harmanpreet Singh and boxer Lovlina Borgohain will be the flag bearers for the Indian contingency.

New Delhi: India have started their Asian Games campaign on a high note as even after 4 days of the tournament being done and dusted, none of the Indian team across any sport is out of the medal contingency.

Even though the games started on September 19, the official opening ceremony of the Asian Games 2023, is scheduled for Saturday, September 23, as only the team events started on September 19, while the medal events will begin on Sunday, September 24.

When to watch

The official telecast of the Asian Games 2023, will begin at 5:30 Hrs IST, from Hangzhou Olympic Sports Center Stadium, Hangzhou, China.

Where to watch

Telecast: The opening ceremony will be telecasted live on Sony Ten 2 (HD and SD) for English viewers, while also being on Sony Ten 3 (HD and SD) for Hindi viewers.

Streaming: The event will be live streamed on the Sony Liv app and website, with the applicable subscription.

Mobile users can switch to JioTV to watch the event live for free on their phones.

Indian contingent

Notably, India is sending their biggest ever contingent for Asian Games 2023, with a total of 655 athletes taking part across 36 different events.

This number is 85 more than the Indian contingent sent for the 2018 Jakarta, Asian Games.

Indian men’s hockey team’s captain, Harmanpreet Singh and boxer Lovlina Borgohain, will be India’s flag bearers in Asian Games 2023, opening ceremony.

Tournament so far

India is running high in the tournament at the moment, with both the men’s and women’s table tennis teams getting qualified for the round of 16, earlier today.

Indian women’s cricket team qualified for the semifinals and now stands two wins away from gold and one win away from an assured medal.

Indian men’s volleyball team also made history by reaching the quarterfinals of the tournament for the first time ever.