Connect with us


Indian squad for World Test Championship final announced, Ajinkya Rahane makes a comeback




Ajinkya Rahane's MCG knock one of the most important hundreds in history of Indian cricket: Gavaskar

New Delhi: The Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) on Tuesday announced Indian squad for the World Test Championship (WTC) final against Australia.

Among the most prominent names are Ajinkya Rahane and Shardul Thakur, as they make a comeback to the Team India, led by skipper Rohit Sharma.

The game, scheduled between June 7 to 11, will be played at The Oval, UK. Australia topped the WTC table with 66.67 PCT while Team India scored 2nd rank with 58.8 PCT.

Rohit Sharma will lead the 15-men Men in Blue squad as it takes on Australia in the Summit clash in London.

Veteran batter Ajinkya Rahane’s return to team comes on back of sublime performances in domestic cricket as well as Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023.

However, the noted players missing from the 15-member squad include Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav and Kuldeep Yadav. They failed to make the cut in team, owing to below-par recent performances.

Talking about the team’s preparedness, Shubman Gill is projected to open the innings with skipper Rohit Sharma.

KS Bharat is the preferred wicket keeper choice, though his recent outings in Test series against Australia at home remained average & unimpressive.

WTC final date & venue

The WTC final will be played at London’s Oval stadium, between June 7 & June 11. A reserve day of June 12 has been kept aside if the game is interrupted by inclement weather or other unpredictable circumstances. India had booked their slot in the WTC final after thrashing Australia by 2-1 in home test series.

India squad for WTC final

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Ravi Chandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, KS Bharat (WK), Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jayadev Unadkat.