Pithoragarh in Uttarakhand and Kaliaganj (SC), Karimpur and Kharagpur Sadar in West Bengal went to by-elections on November 25. The Gazette Notification for these polls was issued on October 30 and the last date for filing nominations was November 6.

By-elections to the Rampur Assembly seat, considered an SP bastion, were necessitated after Azam Khan won the Lok Sabha elections from the constituency earlier this year.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath held three rallies in Bhooshan's favour. Akhilesh had also campaigned extensively in support for Fatima.

He could not contest from Assam because the Congress was not in a position to ensure his victory. In the recent biennial elections to two seats, the BJP had put up candidates and got them elected.

New Delhi, Apr 10: The Election Commission (EC) has cancelled the by-poll to the Dr Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly constituency in...