Election Commission of India

Announcing the schedule, the ECI said in a statement: “The term of office of 55 members of the Rajya Sabha elected from 17 States is due to expire on their retirement in April, 2020.”

Delhi recorded a voter turnout of over 61 per cent in the hard-fought Assembly election with the polling having picked up pace in the evening on Saturday. According to the Election Commission's Voter Turnout app, the voting percentage was 61.67 per cent at 10.26 pm on Saturday.

This comes after a delegation of Congress leaders approached the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday asking for a ban on campaigning by Minister of State for Finance Anurag Thakur and BJP Lok Sabha MP Parvesh Verma for the February 8 Delhi Assembly elections because of their “provocative statements to incite communal violence”.

Flanked by Delhi unit BJP chief Manoj Tiwari, Union Minister Javadekar said that BJP is comfortably placed so far as the coming Assembly polls are concerned.

"AAP used to say that they were stopped from doing work in the last five years. They created the biggest problem of water and pollution in Delhi," he said.

The CEC said Delhi has 1.46 crore voters and polling will be held at 13,750 polling stations and 90,000 officials will be deployed in the election process.

The Delhi Assembly has 70 seats and Delhi has a total of 1.43 crore voters, according to the Election Commission's record for the election Lok Sabha 2019.

The Model code of conduct has come into force with immediate effect in the districts in which the whole or any part of the Parliamentary and Assembly constituency is going for elections.

New Delhi: The BJP is set to sweep assembly elections in both states Haryana and Maharasthra, with Devendra Fadnavis and...

The electoral fate of over 1169 candidates in Haryana will be sealed in EVMs by the voters who will exercise their democratic franchise in the assembly elections