Connect with us


Election Results 2022: From Sidhu to Akhilesh Yadav, here’s where all big faces stand across 5 states

Swami Prasad Maurya, who recently left the BJP and joined the Samajwadi Party had to face defeat from the Fazilnagar seat

Ayushi Sikarwar




New Delhi: As the counting of votes is underway across the 5 states for the Assembly Elections 2022, the early trends have provided a sneak peek into the results already.

The exit polls released by the various media organizations and agencies, that often go wrong, are proving to be true this once, with Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) crossing almost halfway mark in Uttar Pradesh and Uttrakhand.

The saffron party also seems to form a coalition government in Manipur and Goa.

In Punjab, the newbie Aam Admi Party has achieved a landmark by sweeping the poll results, leaving the grand old party Congress and Akali Dal far behind.

As the final turnout of the state polls is yet to come, we’ve brought you all the big faces and star campaigners for Congress, BJP, SP, and other parties from the battlefield, along with the info of where they stand in the high octane contest.

1. Navjot Singh Sidhu – Congress

Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu loses from Amritsar East by a margin of 6,750 votes.

2. Bhagwant Mann – AAP

Aam Admi Party’ CM face Bhagwant Mann, candidate from Dhuri, wins with a margin of 58,206 votes.

3. Captain Amarinder Singh – PLC

Chandigarh: Punjab Chief Minister Captain Amarinder Singh

Former CM and Punjab Lok Congress founder, Captain Amarinder Singh loses from Patiala by a margin of 19,873 votes. He was defeated by Aam Aadmi Party’s candidate Ajitpal Singh Kohli.

4. Akhilesh Yadav – SP



Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav is leading from the Karhal seat. BJP candidate and Union Minister of State SP Singh is in competition with Yadav from this constituency.

5. Keshav Prasad Maurya – BJP 

Keshav Prasad Maurya, UP Deputy CM

State Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya is trailing by nearly 1500 votes from the Sirathu seat. SP’s Pallavi Patel is giving him a strong challenge.

6. Pushkar Singh Dhami – BJP 

Pushkar Singh Dhami

Uttrakhand CM Dhami is contesting the election from the Khatima constituency. Congress candidate Bhuwan Chandra Kapri is leading from the seat, while Dhami is trailing behind by over 6000 votes.

7. Swami Prasad Maurya – SP 

Swami Prasad Maurya

Swami Prasad Maurya, who recently left the BJP and joined the Samajwadi Party had to face defeat from the Fazilnagar seat. Here Surendra Kushwaha of BJP has won by more than 26 thousand votes.

8. Yogi Adityanath – BJP 

Yogi Adityanath

UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has won from Gorakhpur by over one lakh votes. Against him, Shubhavati Shukla, wife of former BJP leader Upendra Dutt Shukla, Chandrashekhar Ravana from Azad Samaj Party, and Khwaja Shamsuddin from BSP were in the ground battle.