• youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

UEFA EURO 2024: Will Alvaro Morata play tonight against France?

Alvaro Morata is set to start for La Roja after the Spanish captain was rumoured to be booked by Anthony Taylor during the Quarterfinals.

New Delhi: Spain thumped Germany for a 2-1 win to book a spot in the semifinals. On the other side, France also eked out Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal to book a mouthwatering clash against Spain. Although the Spanish fans were delirious, head coach Luis de la Fuente has a tough task ahead.

The La Roja will be without their in form centre back and right back- Le Normand and Carvajal. Added to this there was also a brewing rumour that Spanish captain Álvaro Morata will also miss the game against France. With the injury of Pedri and the suspension of Le Normand and Carvajal, Morata’s absence would have diminished La Roja’s chances of beating France.

However, things have not gone South for De la Fuente as Morata was given the green signal to play against France at the Allianz Arena. Naturally, he will be slotted in along with Yamal and Nico at the top.

What was the controversy?

It is believed that Morata’s alleged suspension was a result of a miscommunication from the broadcasters. Alvaro Morata was rumoured to have been shown a yellow card by on-field referee Anthony Taylor after Mikel Merino scored the decisive header in the 119th minute to take his side through.

However, contradictory to what had transpired, referee Anthony Taylor removed any doubts of Morata not starting for La Roja. According to Taylor, he never issued any suspension for Morata which means he is eligible to play for the semifinals.

Spain Probable lineup

The only changes that De la Fuente could come up with is substituting Sevilla’s right-back Jesús Navas for Dani Carvajal and Nacho for Le Normand. On the other hand, Dani Olmo who came as a substitute could also potentially get a start in the midfield alongside Rodri and Fabian Ruiz.

Playing XI

Unai Simon, Jesús Navas, Nacho, Aymeric Laporte, Marc Cucurella, Dani Olmo, Rodri, Fabian Ruiz, Lamine Yamal, Álvaro Morata, Nico Williams