• youtube
  • facebook
  • twitter

WTC Final: Australia win the ICC World Test Championship Final, Defeats India by 209 runs at The Oval.

With this glorious victory, The mighty Australian team became the first-ever team to win an ICC title in all three formats of the game.

New Delhi: India’s Trophy drought at the ICC events continued with a painful 209-run defeat by the hands of Australia in the final of WTC 2023 in Kennington Oval on Sunday.

Chasing a mammoth total of 444 runs against the Pat Cummins lead side, India finished at 163/3 by the stumps on 4th day. However, within the first hour of the 5th and final day of the ultimate test, Virat Kohli lost his wicket early on the score of 49 before India’s middle order crumbled as the team got all out on the score of 234 runs in the very first session.

Australia becomes first team to win all ICC titles


With this glorious victory, The all-conquering Australian team became the first-ever team to win an ICC title in all three formats of the game.

For the unversed, The Baggy Greens have already won five ODI Word Cup titles in the years 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015 as well as two back-to-back editions of the Champion’s trophy in the years 2006 and 2009.

Besides this, the mighty Australians have also won their maiden T20 World Cup title in the 2021 edition of the tournament in UAE under the captainship of Aron Finch.

India’s fourth defeat in an ICC final since 2013

virat kohli wtc final

Meanwhile, for team India, this comes as the fourth defeat in an ICC tournament final since 2013.

In the last 10 years, men in blue have been unable to get their hands on any ICC trophy after losing back-to-back knockout games in the finals and semi-finals of the ICC tournaments including 2 editions of the ODI world cups, 3 editions of T20 world cups, 1 edition of Champions trophy, and 2 cycles of ICC World Test Championships.

India won their last ICC title back in 2013 when the team clinched the ICC Champions Trophy under the leadership of legendary captain MS Dhoni in England.