DDC Elections

According to the tally at 9.30 am by Jammu and Kashmir State Election Authority, NC won 67, PDP-27, PDF-2, CPIM-5, JKPM-3, JKPC-8 in the DDC elections which were held in eight phases.

State Election Commissioner KK Sharma said on Monday said that all necessary arrangements have been made for Tuesday's counting of votes in Jammu and Kashmir.

The State Election Commissioner said that polling will be held at 1,703 polling stations including 1,028 in Kashmir and 675 in Jammu.

For the fourth consecutive phase of elections today, the valley residents turned up in hordes to exercise their franchise in the DDC elections.

District Development Council (DDC) elections: Kashmir division recorded overall polling percentage of 25% while Jammu division recorded 60.52 per cent, State Election Commission (SEC) data said.

There are a total of 321 candidates in the electoral fray -- 196 from the Kashmir Division and 125 from Jammu.

DDC Elections: Kupwara recorded voting percentage of 13.492 per cent, Bandipora 17.874 per cent, Baramulla 12.196 per cent, Ganderbal 23.144 per cent, Srinagar 10.641 per cent, Budgam 28.472 per cent, Pulwama 3.514 per cent, Shopian 29.341 per cent, Kulgam 14.911 per cent and Anantnag 23.462 per cent till 11.00 am.

J&K DDC Elections: Parties including National Conference, People's Democratic Party (PDP), Peoples Conference and CPI(M), formed People's Alliance for Gupkar Declaration and are fighting DDC elections together.