Yadav said that where the government should be focused on improving the healthcare system in the state, it is thinking about the election.

The term of nine members of the Bihar Legislative Council elected by the Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) ended on May 6.

Announcing the schedule, the ECI said in a statement: “The term of office of 55 members of the Rajya Sabha elected from 17 States is due to expire on their retirement in April, 2020.”

It stated that the Home Department, Government of Jammu and Kashmir, through a letter dated February 18 had "advised the Election Authority to consider deferring of the conduct of polls based on credible inputs from the law enforcement agencies."

The party galloped to a landslide victory by winning 62 of the 70 seats in the Delhi Assembly elections in the face of a high-voltage campaign by the BJP

The majority of jokes were on the Congress which ruled the capital for 15 years between 1998 to 2013 but has been reduced to zero in the last two elections.

Delhi is witnessing a triangular contest among AAP, BJP and Congress. In the last poll, the AAP had won 67 seats, while the BJP won three seats. The Congress failed to open its account.

BJP president JP Nadda also urged the citizens of Delhi to cast their votes in large numbers and participate in the biggest festival of democracy.

The minister went door to door and handed booklets of BJP to the residents of the colony. He was accompanied by other party workers and later joined by residents too.

This comes after the Delhi High Court on Friday quashed the election of former Delhi Law Minister Jitender Singh Tomar from Tri Nagar Assembly constituency in 2015 for wrongly mentioning his educational qualification in the election affidavit.