Mamata Banerjee

A Shradhanjali and Sarva Dharma Prarthana Sabha was held on Friday morning at Vajpayee's memorial, Sadaiv Atal, in New Delhi.

The saffron party won 18 of the 42 Lok Sabha seats in Bengal in the Lok Sabha polls which was only four less than the Trinamool Congress's 22.

The car accident took place on Sunday when the Unnao rape victim was on her way to Rae Bareli. A truck rammed into the vehicle in which the girl was travelling with her two aunts and lawyer. While her aunts succumbed to injuries, she and her lawyer were grievously injured.

On Sunday, the victim, while on her way to Rai Bareilly along with her two aunts and her lawyer, met with an accident after a truck rammed into her vehicle. While her aunts died, the rape survivor and her lawyer suffered grievous injuries.

On July 23, 49 celebrities wrote an open letter to Prime Minister Modi demanding that "exemplary punishment" should be meted out "swiftly and surely" in lynching cases. The letter, which also highlighted 'Jai Shri Ram' as becoming a "provocative war-cry" in the present day, carried the signatures of among others Anurag Kashyap, Mani Ratnam, and Shyam Benegal.

Stating that the country needs an electoral reform which includes government funding of elections, Banerjee said: "The time has come for government funding of elections, which is the norm in 65 countries."

"A total of 107 West Bengal MLAs from CPM, Congress, and TMC will join the BJP," said Roy, while addressing a press conference.

Jahan and her actor friend Mimi took the political plunge this year and won from Basirhat and Jadavpur parliamentary constituencies, respectively. In June, the two took oath as members of the Lok Sabha.

Newly elected TMC MP Nusrat Jahan was caught in the eye of storm after she was spotted in Parliament wearing mangalsutra and sindoor.

The Supreme Court on Monday issued a notice to West Bengal government on a contempt plea filed by the brother of BJP Youth Wing Convenor Priyanka Sharma, who was arrested for sharing a meme of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.