Nationalist Congress Party

Maharashtra came under President's Rule after the BJP, Shiv Sena and NCP indicated they were not willing to form a government.

Before elections, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and I said many times in public that if our alliance wins, then Devendra Fadnavis will be the CM. No one objected back then

 In the assembly elections for the 288-member House, the BJP won the maximum 105 seats, followed by its ally Sena (56). The opposition NCP and Congress won 54 and 44 seats, respectively. The poll results were announced on October 24.

Rohit Pawar, the grand nephew of veteran politician Sharad Pawar, won from Karjat Jamkhed constituency in the recently held Assembly Elections in the state.

The BJP won 17 seats less compared to its 2014 tally in Maharashtra. Shiv Sena and BJP fought the elections in an alliance and share power in the state.The BJP secured 105 seats, Shiv Sena 56, Congress 44 and the Nationalist Congress Party 54 in the 288-member assembly.

NCP chief Sharad Pawar had campaigned extensively in the state to boost the party's prospects. It will be the first time that Maharashtra will have the BJP chief minister for the second successive term in office.

BJP-Shiv Sena alliance won an absolute majority in the Maharashtra assembly polls with the former emerging as the single largest party in the state with 105 seats. Shiv Sena, on the other hand, bagged 56 seats in the elections.

The polls are equally as crucial for the Congress which has faced desertions after its second successive debacle in the Lok Sabha polls. A strong performance will help the party in its process of electoral revival.

Patel's name has reportedly appeared in a land deal case linked to Dawood Ibrahim's close aide, Muhammed Iqbal Memon alias Iqbal Mirchi. He was also reportedly summoned by the Enforcement Directorate (ED) over the matter.

Taking the Congress head-on over such shocking revelations, the BJP has asked Congress party about the alliance with NCP and about the post to be given to Patel during UPA's tenure.