Delhi Metro services continue to function for the sixth consecutive day post resumption of services in a phased manner in three stages beginning from September 7, after a gap of more than five months.

DMRC resumed services on the Magenta and Grey lines today under Stage-II of restarting its operations with all COVID-19 protocols in place.

After a gap of more than five months, the DMRC had resumed its services in a phased manner in three stages beginning from September 7.

DMRC resumed the services of Blue and Pink Line on Wednesday and Yellow Line connecting Samaypur Badli to Huda City Centre and Rapid Metro in Gurugram on September 7 as part of Unlock 4.

The entire Metro network will be made operational for passengers throughout the day from September 12 as it was before March 22, 2020, with all social distancing norms and guidelines in place during the travel due to ongoing pandemic.

Three more lines- Red Line, Green Line and Violet Line will also resume services the day from September 10 with the same schedule of 4 hours of passenger service each in the morning and evening under Stage-I plan of resumption of Metro services.

The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) has urged people to avoid unnecessary travel and to talk less while travelling "to prevent the possibility of short-range aerosol transmission".

Monitoring will be done through CCTV cameras for crowd management. Visuals will also be played through LED screens for awareness against the pathogen.

The announcements were made by Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) Chief Mangu Singh on Wednesday in presence of Union Minister for Housing and Urban Affairs Hardeep Singh Puri.

The Delhi Transport Minister had earlier said his government will ensure that COVID-19 norms are followed by the commuters.