Counting for the Karnataka local body elections is underway in different parts of the state, including Shivamogga and Davanagere. This is the second phase of gram panchayat elections in the state.

The BJP-JD(U) alliance may be confident as it swept 2019 Lok Sabha elections and won almost 90% votes in 243 assembly segments. However, as Delhi has shown, assembly elections in Bihar can be a totally different ballgame.

Shetty, a trustee of Alva's Education Foundation (AEF), had joined politics in 1965 and went on to become the President of Paladka Panchayat in Karkala Taluk. In 1983, he was elected as an MLA from Moodbidri constituency and was re-elected again in the same constituency in 1987 and 1994.

These by-polls are being considered very crucial for all three major parties contesting in these polls- BJP, Congress and JD(S).

Kharge further said that all disqualified MLAs will lose in Karnataka as they cheated the ideology and party and people are really angry on them.

The rebel legislators were disqualified by the then speaker K R Ramesh Kumar in July earlier this year under the anti-defection law after they tendered their resignation.

The Supreme Court on Wednesday upheld the decision of the then Karnataka speaker K R Ramesh Kumar to disqualify 17 rebel Congress-JD(S) MLAs under the anti-defection law but said that they can contest the upcoming by-elections in the state.

By-elections to the 15 assembly seats in Karnataka are scheduled to be held on December 5.Earlier, it was o October 21 in 15 constituencies that were vacated by rebel MLAs of Congress and JD(S).

The Janata Dal (Secular) expelled three rebel MLAs from the party for indulging in anti-party activities, days after the Congress-JD(S) government collapsed after losing the confidence motion.

Out of the 14 rebel MLAs, 11 of them are from Congress. The disqualified legislators include -- Pratap Gowda Patil, BC Patil, Shivanand Hebbar, ST Somashekar, Shrimant Patil, BA Basavaraja, Anand Singh, R Roshan Baig, Muniratna, K Sudhakar and MTB Nagaraj.