The tournament will see ace shuttlers compete in all formats of the game. Iran's Fariba Madadi will be the referee for this edition and the tournament will award a total prize money of USD 25,000.

Kashyap had registered an easy 21-16, 21-16 win over Lu Chia Hung of Chinese Taipei in the second round of the tournament. He is the lone Indian to stay alive in the competition.

The world-ranked 11 won the second and the third game 22-24, 15-21 to enter the second round of the tournament.

The Indian pair managed to win the first game which was a closely fought affair. Both the pairs went back and forth but in the end, Rankireddy and Ponnappa won the first game 22-20.

Sindhu defeated Japan's Nozomi Okuhara 21-7, 21-7 in the finals of the tournament on Sunday to become the first Indian shuttler to win gold at the event.

Sindhu also won the silver medal at the Rio Olympics 2016. In this year she appeared in the final of the Indonesia Open where she faced a defeat at the hands of Akane Yamaguchi.

Sindhu got off to a flying start and dominated Okuhara throughout in the first game. At one point, the points were 16-2 and Sindhu did not lose the momentum as she registered a 21-7 victory in the first game.

Nehwal will face Japanese Sayaka Takahashi, Srikanth will play against Khosit Phetpradab. While Kashyap will face Chou Tien Chen and Pranoy will play against Kenta Nishimoto. All the matches will take place on August 1.

24-year-old Sindhu lost the first set against Ohori but she was able to bounce back in the second and third set to win the match that lasted for almost an hour. Srikanth had a field day as he brushed aside Nishimoto's challenge in under 40 minutes.

New Delhi: Shuttlers P V Sindhu and Saina Nehwal sailed into the second round of the Singapore Open with straight-game...