Gupkar alliance

PAGD led by Farooq Abdullah, bagged 112 seats in the first-ever elections to the 288 District Development Councils (DDCs) while BJP emerged as the single-largest party winning 75 seats.

According to the tally at 9.30 am by Jammu and Kashmir State Election Authority, NC won 67, PDP-27, PDF-2, CPIM-5, JKPM-3, JKPC-8 in the DDC elections which were held in eight phases.

State Election Commissioner KK Sharma said on Monday said that all necessary arrangements have been made for Tuesday's counting of votes in Jammu and Kashmir.

DDC polls: The State Election Commission (SEC) has appealed to all the political parties and contesting candidates to extend their full cooperation to all the counting staff during the counting process.

Tarun Chugh said the way people were participating in the voting and the way celebrations were taking place overwhelmingly underlined the victory of Prime Minister Narendra Modi for making J&K free from the terror of militants and encouraging people to exercise their franchise.

DDC Elections: Kupwara recorded voting percentage of 13.492 per cent, Bandipora 17.874 per cent, Baramulla 12.196 per cent, Ganderbal 23.144 per cent, Srinagar 10.641 per cent, Budgam 28.472 per cent, Pulwama 3.514 per cent, Shopian 29.341 per cent, Kulgam 14.911 per cent and Anantnag 23.462 per cent till 11.00 am.

J&K DDC Elections: Parties including National Conference, People's Democratic Party (PDP), Peoples Conference and CPI(M), formed People's Alliance for Gupkar Declaration and are fighting DDC elections together.

“The stand of Cong is not clear on Gupkar alliance as well as Jammu and Kashmir. 'Congress Ka Haath , Algavvad ke Saath (Congress is seen standing with the separatist forces)', CM Yogi took potshots at Congress

Congress' double standard has been exposed in J&K and they are responsible for not letting 'Ek Bharat, Shreshth Bharat' concept become a reality, UP CM Yogi Adityanath said

A group of more than 250 distinguished personalities including former Chief Justices of High Courts, former ambassadors, retired Army and IAS and IPS officers and other eminent personalities have issued a statement in this regard.