On World Indigenous People’s Day, Jharkhand government declared a public holiday in the state. Chief Minister Hemant Soren paid tributes to freedom fighters Nilamber and Pitamber on the occasion and also planted a sapling.

The DGP replied to the tweet later in the day saying "Sir, the officer was sent to Police Lines and was suspended. DSP Barharwa was directed to enquire and submit the report by tomorrow evening. Further appropriate action will be taken on receipt of the report. Instructions for the security of the victim were issued."

Jharkhand on Wednesday reported 439 new cases of COVID-19, while three more people died due to the disease. The state's death toll stands at 64.

Shravan, the fifth month in the Hindu calendar, is considered to be the most auspicious month of the year. It is dedicated to Lord Shiva who, according to Hindu religious beliefs, is the creator, preserver, and destroyer of this universe.

Regarding her daughter's success, her father Rajesh Haripal said, "I will leave no stone unturned to help her study further. Parents must support their children in their studies and not put pressure on them."

Chief Minister had come in contact with state minister Mithilesh Thakur who tested positive for COVID-19 yesterday," the Information and PR Department, Jharkhand said.

The tremors were felt in Hampi (Karnataka) and Jamshedpur (Jharkhand), according to the National Center for Seismology (NCS).

Niharika Dwivedi, a class VIII student from Noida gave away a total of Rs 48,530 which she had collected for the last two years to help migrant labourers to reach their home state.

The 18 seats are spread across Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Rajasthan, Gujarat and Meghalaya.

“Eid Mubarak! Greetings on Eid-ul-Fitr. May this special occasion further the spirit of compassion, brotherhood and harmony. May everyone be healthy and prosperous,” wrote PM Modi on Twitter.