parliament of india

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had on March 24 announced a 21-day nationwide lockdown as a precautionary measure to control the spread of COVID-19.

Prime Minister Modi also complimented the presiding officers of the two Houses for the smooth running of the last session of Parliament and observed that this had helped to create a positive impact among the people about the functioning of the legislative arm of the government.

Naidu has re-nominated T. Subbarami Reddy of Congress as Chairman of the Committee on Subordinate Legislation, A. Navaneetha Krishnan as Chairman of the Committee on Government Assurances, Om Prakash Mathur of BJP as Chairman of the House Committee that allots accommodation for members.

The President will head to Tokyo on October 21. He will attend various ceremonies related to the Emperor Naruhito's enthronement and also take part in a banquet hosted by Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe. The ceremony will be attended by leaders from all parts of the world.

Tharoor termed remarks of Pakistan delegation as "disappointing misuse of the platform" and asserted that Jammu and Kashmir was an integral part of India.

20 per cent of the demand for grants for ministries such as road transport and highways, agriculture and farmer's welfare, railways, rural development were discussed in Lok Sabha.The release also said 94 per cent first-term MPs participated in a debate during the session and 96 per cent women MPs participated.

The Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Bill, 2019, provides for bifurcation of Jammu and Kashmir into Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh. Congress leader P Chidambaram had also raised a strong objection to Jammu and Kashmir being turned into a Union Territory.

The Congress, Trinamool Congress, Samajwadi Party (SP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the left parties opposed the Bill.

Union Minister of Minority Affairs Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi said that the central government is bringing the law on triple talaq for the social, financial and constitutional empowerment of Muslim women in the country.

In 2009, he was re-elected to the 15th Lok Sabha from the Chevella constituency and served as a Union Minister for Urban Development and Union Minister for Petroleum and Natural Gas.