Elections 2019

“My only request to you is that I am your elder brother. I demanded candidates for only 2 seats as they had popular local support but that was not given heed. I always told you to beware of sycophants around you,” Tej Pratap wrote in letter.

"I have spoken to other Chief Ministers also. Since it is a ceremonial program, we thought of attending it. Yes, I will go," Mamata Banerjee told media here on Tuesday.

According to data from PRS legislative research, 397 MPs have been elected from national parties. Congress got its 52 MPs elected while TMC emerged victorious on 22 LS seats.

"Tejashwi Yadav should resign from the post of Leader of Opposition as people are fed up of dynasty politics. If dynasty politics does not come to an end, the party will break up and a large fragment will go away," rebel party leader said.

The Congress won eight of Punjab's 13 Lok Sabha seats in recently-concluded Lok Sabha elections. Jakhar, however, lost to newly-minted BJP leader Sunny Deol by a considerable margin of 82,459 votes.

Mamata Banerjee, addressing her first press conference after setback in Bengal, said she did not want to continue as chief minister and had told the TMC office-bearers.

Patnaik has continued his grip over Odisha with his party, BJD, winning 112 Assembly seats in the 147-member House.

"Rahul Gandhi offered his resignation, as the party president. The CWC unanimously rejected the same and requested Congress President for his leadership and guidance in challenging times," a resolution adopted in the meeting said.

The newly elected 151 MLAs of the YSR Congress met at the state party office in Amaravathi and have formally passed a resolution declaring Jagan Mohan Reddy as their leader.