Connect with us


MS Dhoni or Rohit Sharma: Who is most successful skipper in IPL history?

Here, we take a look at the most successful IPL captains, over the years since the time Indian Premier League was launched in 2008.





New Delhi: Year 2023 marks the 16th edition of Indian Premier League (IPL). The high stakes battle between the IPL franchisees, year after year, has made the tournament a favouite pastime for scores of cricket fans.

However, a lot lies on the shoulders of Team skippers who set the pace of game and are responsible for setting your pulses racing in the Twenty20 format. Their small decision can make or break the game and subsequently a franchisee’s fortunes.

Here, we take a look at the most successful IPL captains, over the years since the time Indian Premier League was launched in 2008.

Ranging from MS Dhoni to Rohit Sharma to Gautam Gambhir, they make for most successful skippers of the IPL.

1) MS Dhoni, Captain, Chennai Super Kings (CSK)


MS Dhoni is the most successful Team India captain, having led the side to victory in all formats of the game – ODI, Test & Twenty20.

The cricketer also holds the record of being most successful captain in IPL history. Having led Chennai Super Kings (CSK) since 2007, he led the team to 4 IPL titles and also won 2 Champions League T20 titles.
Under his inspiring leadership, the team has made it to play-offs in all seasons except one and reached final on many occasions. The team composition changed over the years but Dhoni remained consistent with his form & leadership.

2) Rohit Sharma – Mumbai Indians (MI)

Rohit SharmaRohit Sharma, leading the Mumbai Indians (MI) in IPL is the most successful skipper and has led his side to victory & lifted the IPL titles for record 5 times.

Initially, Mumbai Indians floundered during the beginning of IPL season but under Rohit’s stewardship, the team commanded control over the tournament. Rohit also deserves credit for the rare honour as he justified the epithet of ‘hitman’ with his epic knocks.

3) Gautam Gambhir – Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)


Gautam Gambhir has retired from IPL but he is yet another Indian player, who led the team from the front and never hesitated in taking aggressive & bold decisions to subjugate his rivals. Having captained Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), he led the team to 2 IPL titles in 2012 & 2014.

4) Adam Gilchrist – Deccan Chargers (DC)


Australian hard-hitter Adam Gilchrist was a pure delight to watch for. While he captained Deccan Chargers (DC), he led the team to victory & IPL title in 2019. His calm & consistent keeping laced with aggressive batting set examples before the team and it registered many victories. Gilchrist led his team to 1 IPL title before hanging up his boots from the IPL.

5) Shane Warne – Rajasthan Royals (RR)

Shane Warne

Shane Warne, the legendary Australian spinner created history by winning the inaugural season of IPL in 2008. The then RR team, perceived as minnows, turned the tables in the cash-ringing tournament and emerged on top of the table. His astute planning & brilliant captaincy helped RR emerge as champions and bag the IPL’s first title.