Connect with us


Asia Cup 2023: PM Modi congratulates team India on winning the Asia Cup 2023

Md. Siraj was India’s star of the day with his career best figures of 6 for 21.

Aditya Kaushik




Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated team India on their historic achievement of winning the Asia Cup title for a record eighth time after defeating Sri Lanka in the finals.

PM Modi took on X (Formerly known as Twitter), to congratulate the men in blue, replying to BCCI’s post by saying, “Well played, Team India! Congratulations on winning the Asia Cup. Our players have shown remarkable skill throughout the tournament.”

Earlier, the Sri Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka won the toss and opted to bat first.

The Indian pacers soon made him regret his decision by sending half the team back into the pavilion by the third over.

Jasprit Bumrah started the onslaught after dismissing Kusal Perera in the very first over.

Mohammed Siraj then broke the backbone of the Sri Lankan batting order by taking four wickets in his second over.

Siraj became the first Indian bowler to take four wickets in an over in any international match.

The in-form Sri Lankan batsman Kusal Mendis tried to build a partnership with the newest Sri Lankan sensation, Dunith Wellalage, but as soon as he was dismissed, the whole linken innings collapsed on just 50 runs.

In reply, Ishan Kishan and Subhman Gill faced no difficulties as they chased down the small target of 51 set by Sri Lanka, in just 6.1 overs, giving India their first multi-nation tournament victory in 4 years.