Connect with us


India vs Australia, 1st ODI: India beats Australia by 5 wickets to become World’s No.1 ODI side

Skipper KL Rahul finished it off with style as Men in Blue defeated Australia in the first ODI to get a 1-0 lead in the 3-match series against the visiting team

Aditya Kaushik




New Delhi: Skipper KL Rahul finished it off with style as Men in Blue defeated Australia in the first ODI to get a 1-0 lead in the 3-match series against the visiting team. After Mohamad Shami’s ruthless fifer restricted Australia to a total of 276, Indian batters displayed patience and skills to take India home comfortably.

All 4 half centurions of India (Rituraj Gaikawad, Shubhman Gill, Surya Kumar Yadav and captain Kl Rahul) made the tricky chase of 276 looks easy with their sublime batting which never allowed the Aussies to bounce back in the game. With the victory, Team India, who was earlier tying with Pakistan on 115 points in the ICC ODI ranking, has officially zoomed past the neighbours to become the No. 1 ODI side of world cricket.

Earlier, Md. Shami runs havoc through the Australian batting line-up as they finish their innings with a sub-par total of 276 on the board. The Pacer proved his skipper’s decision of bowling first right by removing the in-form Mitchel Marsh (4), in the very first over of the game.

After, the early strike, David Warner and Steve Smith added 94 runs for the second wicket to rebuild the Aussie innings. David Warner (52), accepted the lifeline given to him by Shreyas Iyer when he dropped Warner on 14 off Shardul Thakur’s bowling on the last ball of the 9th over. Warner made the most out of the opportunity given to him and completed his 29th ODI fifty.

Steve Smith (41), missed his much-deserved fifty after Md. Shami bowled him out in the 22nd over. Marnus Labuschange (39) and Cameron Green (31), played some much-needed cameos for the Aussies. Josh Inglis (45) and Marcus Stoinis (29), showed some late flurry before falling to Bumrah and Shami, respectively. The skipper, Pat Cummins (21*), scored 13 runs in Shardul Thakur’s final over as Australia finished their innings with 276 for 10 wickets in their designated 50 overs.

Md. Shami was India’s bowling star of the match with his second-ever fifer in ODI cricket. Bumrah, Ashwin and Jadeja took one wicket each.

Notably, India will be facing Australia in a three-match ODI series as their final assignment before the commencement of the ICC ODI World Cup 2023, starting next month.

Australia will also be trying to get the hang of the Indian conditions before starting their World Cup campaign against the same team on October 7.

Brief Score:

Batting (1st Innings)

Australia: 187/5 (40 overs) – David Warner- 52(53), Josh Inglis- 45(45)

 Bowling (1st innings)

India: Md. Shami- 5/51 (10 overs), Jasprit Bumrah– 1/43 (10 overs)

Batting (2nd innings)

India: 281/5 (48.4) (overs) – Shubhman Gill 74 (63), Ruturaj Gaikwad 71(74)

Bowling (2nd Innings)

Australia: Adam Zampa 2/57 (10 overs), Pat Cummins- 1/44 (10 Overs)



Rahul  finishes off in Style, India wins

Skipper KL Rahul scored his fifty as well as the winning runs for India in style as Men in Blue defeated Australia in the first ODI to get a 1-0 lead in this 3-match series against the visiting team.

Surya Departs after hitting maiden ODI fifty

Surya Kumar walks back to the dressing room after scoring a gorgeous 50 of 49 balls. Abbott gets his first wicket.

India cruising towards victory

Rahul and Surya are playing Australian bowlers effortlessly and India is sailing towards their first victory in the series.

India regains control

Surya and Rahul continue to play Stoinis with ease by pushing the ball for a quick single or two. India looking well in control.

Pat Cummins Strikes

Australian skipper Pat Cummins gets his first one of the day by dismissing Ishan Kishan on 18 (26).

Iyer’s nightmare continues

Shreyas Iyer’s bad day out at Mohali continues as he gets run out on 3.

Zampa gets the big fish

Adam Zampa gives Australia their first success as Ruturaj departs on 77.

Rocket Raja announces his arrival

Ruturaj Gaikwad completes his maiden ODI fifty.

David and Goliath

Gill and Ruturaj complete their 100-run partnership while opening the innings for the first time ever.

The reign of the prince continues

Subhman Gill continues his purple patch in limited-overs cricket and brings up his ninth ODI fifty.

No answers

Australian bowlers looking in disarray as Gill and Ruturaj are placing the ball all around the ground.

Fitness freak

Subhman Gill and Ruturaj complete 4 runs by running, showcasing their incredible level of fitness.

The final nail in the coffin

Australia bindles out on 276 after losing their final wicket on the final ball of the innings.

Scintillating Shami

Shami completes his fifer with two wickets in his final over.

Boom-Boom Bumrah

Jasprit Bumrah gets his first wicket of the match as Josh Inglis departs just 5 shy of his fifty.

Marcus vs Shami

Md. Shami had the last laugh in his small battle with Marcus Stoinis, as the latter departs after hitting back to back boundries.

A mix-up in the middle

Green run-out after a yes-no mix-up in the middle.

Rain, rain, go away

After frustrating the players, Mohali weather decides to interrupt the game 35.4 overs into the first innings.

Fortune favours the brave

Ashwin gets dangerous-looking Marnus Labuschange in a bizarre-looking stumping.

Marnus on charge

Marnus Labuschange scores back-to-back boundaries off Ravindra Jadeja in the 29th over.

Shami in, Smith Out

Md. Shami comes back in attack and cleans out Steve Smith.

Sir Jadeja strikes

Ravindra Jadeja removes David Warner after latter completes his 50.

Rubbing salt into the wound

Warner, making the most of the lifeline given to him by Iyer, reaches to his 29th ODI fifty.

Warner and Smith are rebuilding the Aussie innings

David Warner and Steve Smith are taking a steady approach to rebuilding the Australian innings after losing Mitchell Marsh early.

David Warner gets a lifeline

Shreyas Iyer drops David Warner on 14 off Shardul Thakur’s bowling.

Md Shami scalps Mitchell Marsh in the first over

At the very start of the match, Mohammed Shami gives the Aussies a big shock. With his early strike, Mitchell Marsh departed at just 4 runs.



Australia (Playing XI): David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, Josh Inglis(w), Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Short, Pat Cummins(c), Sean Abbott, Adam Zampa

India (Playing XI): Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w/c), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami