Uddhav Thackeray

"Congratulations to Uddhav Thackeray Ji on taking oath as the CM of Maharashtra. I am confident he will work diligently for the bright future of Maharashtra. @OfficeofUT," PM Modi tweeted.

Along with Patil NCP leader Chhagan Bhujbal is also likely to take oath as state minister today at Shivaji Park when Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray will be sworn-in as 18th Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, his predecessor Manmohan Singh, Congress president Sonia Gandhi and about 400 farmers from various districts are among the people who have been invited for the oath-taking ceremony scheduled to be held at 6:40 pm.

Shiv Sena leader Aaditya Thackeray has also invited Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi and former prime minister Manmohan Singh for the ceremony.

Shiv Sena chief and Maharashtra's chief minister-designate Uddhav Thackeray will take oath to office tomorrow evening, at the sprawling Shivaji Park in Central Mumbai.

Around 400 farmers from various districts of Maharashtra have also been invited for Thackeray's swearing-in ceremony.

Top NCP sources also denied that they have demanded 2.5 years chief ministership. Shiv Sena chief and Chief Minister-designate Uddhav Thackeray on Wednesday morning met Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari at Raj Bhavan.

Speaking about the invitations given to various political leaders, Shiv Sena leader Eknath Shinde said that the party has aslo invited Sonia Gandhi for the oath-ceremony.

Speaking at the Republic Media Network Summit, Home Minister Amit Shah spoke on a host of issues including Maharashtra political drama and Article 370 abrogation.

Today's session comes a day after BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis resigned as Maharashtra Chief Minister merely three days after he took oath in a controversial turn of events.